Submission Guidelines

Human Geography (ISSN 1942-7786) is a peer-reviewed journal publishing on advances in critical human geography. The board of editors invites the submission of substantive articles, opinion pieces, book review essays, and book reviews. Substantive articles undergo double-blind peer-review process. Opinion pieces and book reviews are peer-reviewed by editors and may be sent out for blind reviews based on the decision of the opinion or book review editor. We strive for a well-written, critical, intellectual journal, not full of empirical detail, and not encumbered by too many citations, a journal that can be read in its entirety. If authors are unsure about the fit of a proposed article, send us a brief synopsis to look at and give an opinion on suitability, style etc.

Manuscripts should be submitted through the journal’s submission site: https://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/hug

Guidelines for authors are located at: https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/human-geography/journal203685#submission-guidelines

 

Please feel free to write the editors to discuss potential contributions:

  • Ipsita Chatterjee (Ipsita.Chatterjee@unt.edu) for substantive articles
  • Waquar Ahmed (Waquar.Ahmed@unt.edu) for substantive articles
  • Raju Das (rajudas@yorku.ca) for opinion pieces and editorials
  • John Lauermann (jlauermann@mec.cuny.edu) for book reviews and review essays

Authors can also direct questions about region-specific works to our regional editors:

  • Balbir S. Butola (bsbutola@mail.jnu.ac.in) Editor of South Asia
  • Jerónimo Montero (jmontero@conicet.gov.ar) Editor for Latin America
  • Alistair Fraser (Alistair.Fraser@nuim.ie) Editor for Europe
  • Wing Shing Tang (wstang@hkbu.edu.hk) Editor for East Asia